NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF AEROSPACE

Contact Us:

David Throckmorton
Vice President of Research
757.325.6724
david.throckmorton@nianet.org

David Peake, Ph.D.
Vice President of Commercial Aeronautics
757.325.6720
djpeake@nianet.org

Carly Bosco
Director NASA Langley Programs
757.325.6726
carly.bosco@nianet.org  

Peter McHugh
Director FAA Programs
757.325.6796
peter.mchugh@nianet.org  

Research and Innovation Laboratories

NIA Research and Innovation Laboratories

 

The Research and Innovation Laboratories at the National Institute of Aerospace were opened on April 12, 2012. The event represented a tremendous step forward in enabling both technology and economic development. The facility fosters innovation and strengthens Virginia’s economic future by providing opportunities for industry and government partners to co-locate on collaborative research and development projects.

As the Institute’s first dedicated laboratory facility for faculty, students, and staff research, the Research and Innovation Laboratories facilitates world-class scientific research and engineering services to NASA and other industry and academic partners.

For the first time since the Institute’s inception, NIA faculty, students, and staff will be able to collaborate with NASA and other partners on NIA-led research endeavors in facilities complimentary to those at NASA Langley Research Center.  The building is unique in that it was constructed, from the outset, to facilitate collaboration between aerospace staff, industry, and students within its shared-use facilities.

The first two floors of the building are exclusively dedicated to laboratory research facilities, with both NIA and private industry laboratories holding residence in the new space. The third floor houses the Peninsula Technology Incubator, NIA’s Educational Outreach offices, an auxiliary office of the Virginia Tech Department of Engineering, and other offices.

Organizations interested in using the facility, or locating within it, should contact Dr. Karl Drews, NIA Vice President of Operations: 757 325 6710 or karl.drews@nianet.org.

Lab Directory:

The Alexander Brown Center for Adaptive Aerospace Vehicle Technology, Morpheus Laboratory
Director: Prof. James E. Hubbard Jr., Samuel P. Langley Distinguished Professor, University of Maryland
Contact: jhubbard@nianet.org | 757 325 6830

The Laboratory for Photonics, Sensors, and Solar Energy
Director: Prof. Mool Gupta, Samuel P. Langley Distinguished Professor, University of Virginia
Contact: mgupta@virginia.edu | 757 325 6850

NIA Nanomaterials Lab
Director:  Dr. Sang-Hyon Chu
Contact: schu@nianet.org  | 757 864-8215

The Bruel & Kjaer Laboratory for Aerospace Acoustics, Vibration and Noise Control
Director: Prof. Christopher Fuller, Samuel P. Langley Distinguished Professor, Virginia Tech
Contact: cfuller@nianet.org | 757 325 6965

The Integrated Structural Health Management Laboratory
Director: Prof. Fuh-Gwo Yuan, Samuel. P. Langley Distinguished Professor, North Carolina State University
Contact: yuan@ncsu.edu | 757 325 6725

The NIA Rapid Prototyping Laboratory
Coordinator: Zaremski, Suzanne
Contact: suzanne.zaremski@nianet.org | 757 325 6786

The Space Systems Laboratory
Directors: Alan Wilhite Samuel P. Langley Distinguished Professor, Georgia Tech, and William Edmonson Samuel P. Langley Distinguished Professor, North Carolina A&T State University
Contact: wilhite@nianet.org | 757 325 6810 or william.edmonson@nianet.org | 757 325 6749

 

 

Wet Chemistry Laboratories

BUSINESS WITH NIA

Headquarters

100 Exploration Way
Hampton, VA 23666
(757)325-6700
info@nianet.org
www.nianet.org